Advocacy Award


The Public Library Advocacy Award presented by the Kentucky Public Library Association of the Kentucky Library Association was established in 2001 at the request of the Legislative

Committee (now called the Advocacy Committee) in response to the outstanding support of public libraries exhibited by Representative John Will Stacy.

The award is presented on an intermittent basis to the public official or citizen-at-large who most successfully advances the cause of public libraries in the Commonwealth.

KPLA Award Nomination Form


  • The nominee must be a library supporter, but does not necessarily need to be a member of the Kentucky Public Library Association (KPLA) of the Kentucky Library Association (KLA).
  • The nominee must not be gainfully employed in a library.
  • The nominee must successfully advance the cause of public libraries on a local, regional, or statewide basis.
  • The nomination should include how the nominee works to support libraries and library awareness.


  • Nominations may be made by anyone in the library field (staff, trustees, Friends)
  • Nominations should be concise, responding to the criteria above. Submit no more than two pages of narrative, with no more that three pages of supportive material (newspaper clippings, photos, etc.)
  • The information and the quality of the application shall be the sole basis of selection. Any application not meeting the criteria above will be disqualified.
  • Selection will be made by the KPLA Advocacy Committee and forwarded to the KPLA Awards Committee.
  • The KPLA Advocacy  Committee may choose to make no award in any given year if the quality of the nominations is not determined to be satisfactory.

Award Winners

  • 2022 – Greg Fisher, Louisville Mayor
  • 2014 – Wayne T. Rutherford (Pike County)
  • 2013 –  Kelly Thurman, McLean County Judge Executive
  • 2012 –  NONE
  • 2011 – Friends of Kentucky Libraries, Inc.
  • 2010 – NONE
  • 2009 – Warren County Judge Executive Mike Buchanan
  • 2008 – NONE
  • 2007 – NONE
  • 2006 – NONE
  • 2005 – NONE
  • 2004 – NONE
  • 2003 – NONE
  • 2002 – NONE
  • 2001 – Representative John Will Stacy
Scroll to top